Crash guards and sticker suraksha kavach

Who knew there was so much information about crash guards! Firstly, there is the three bend leg guard, the crash guard and the crash bar. Apparently the U guard looks royal but the butterfly leaves more room for escaping unscathed in the event of the unthinkable. There is more space to get out if the good looking U guard is used.

I had set my heart on a calligraphic number plate for Billo. I wanted it to go with the calligraphic font I plan to use on the helmet. My father suddenly said something about the Government having regulations against using fancy fonts. So, I pulled out the Motor Vehicles Act and checked the stipulations. You can only get your number plate in Latin(Roman) letters and Arabic numbers. Essentially, no local languages. The specifications for the size of the number plate is also given. However, there appears to be no stipulation restricting the use of fancy fonts, at least in Karnataka. On a side note, that reminds me, I am not able to post anything on the Bulletin Board on the Royal Enfield website or save any text in the ‘Number plate’ area. I wonder if it is a Safari compatibility issue.

The registration card came in by post today. I love my registration number – very easily remember-able. Also, I went to the RTO today to couple my non-geared license with the learner’s license for geared vehicles. True to anticipation, everyone right from the cashier to the RTO officer guffawed and then expressed surprise that I was getting a learner’s license for a bullet. Varun thinks it’s an ignominy to Royal Enfields all over if I’m going to ride around with an L board on it. Bull shit, I say.

Bullet riding classes last Saturday was good fun. Lionel supervised my riding, admonished me for not following the lanes and proceeded to make sure that I followed the lane while turning, every time after that. Shame on me, considering I have ridden an Activa for about seven years now. I also learnt how to start the bullet on a slope. The trick is to start in first gear, slowly release the brake and simultaneously accelerate, he says. I was able to do it on his thunderbird, but I am yet to try it out on Billo and that ghastly slope near home. I was also able to smoothly move from second to third gear on his Thunderbird, wonder why I am having problems with Billo. Must practice.

As the learner’s license is yet to come to me, Nikhil kindly agreed to come to the Service centre to get the crash guards installed and the number plate sticker done. Father (true to the spirit of fathers around the world) is worried to his core that the cops will harass me. He insists that I get my lawyer stickers as soon as possible and stick them on Billo.

Leave a comment