One, two, buckle my shoe

After the first weekend when Bindu and Mrudul taught me how to put the centre stand, kick start and ride in first gear, I had been raring to learn how to change gears. It gets boring to ride around in first gear, you know. And it invites funny stares.

This weekend, Lionel taught me how to change gears and I have been riding around in second and third gears for a bit. I still have a problem changing from second to third gear, the Bullet makes a weird noise and I panic and switch off the engine. I remember Mrudul telling me about a slight neutral between the second and third gears which I must watch out for, must ask him about it this weekend. Also, I got stuck on a slope and realized that I don’t know how to start the Bullet on a slope. If I bring it to neutral, the Bullet moves backwards. If I keep it at first gear and try to start it, holding the clutch makes the Bullet move. Must clear these doubts with Bindu as well.

Tomorrow Billo will get her crash guards fixed. I want a nice saddlebag too, but I decided to wait a bit before I start accessorizing her. Perhaps wait till I can ride around properly. That reminds me, I must apply for the geared vehicle Learners license this week. Have you ever seen a bullet with an L-Board?

Also, I need to get a good helmet. I like the look of Vega Boolean, what with the double visor and all that jazz. Perhaps I will consider the Studds one with the movable jaw. I certainly want jaw protection, considering that I tend to land on my jaw every single time I have fallen down. Studds – Downtown looks very cool, but for this reason, it is beyond consideration. I want to paint the helmet in a retro style, I’m working on the design and will probably get a white helmet as it acts as a good base for all those bright shades I plan to use on it.

Meanwhile, I’ve been reading the handbook again and again. There is so much I don’t know, it overwhelms me. Sometimes I think I have been extremely foolish in just going for the buy instead of learning all this first. Then again, something tells me that if I hadn’t got Billo, I would have never learnt any of it. Trial and error it may be, a little wonked in the head I may be, but one nervous step at a time is how this is going to work. Or rather, one gear at a time.

Leave a comment