Day 1 – Swimming

Hold on to the wall. Gasp. Dunk head. Breathe through the nose. Bubbles blind me as I bend my head to look at my stomach, so that my legs will lift up and I will be floating straight. Except, my legs refuse to lift up.

Step away from the wall. Do the breathing routine. Float towards the wall. Do not hold on to the wall. Except, I can’t wait to feel the wall. I don’t mind placing just my fingertips on the wall and doing the routine. As long as I know the wall is there.

Stand against wall. Push off from the wall. Hands straight, against the ears. It is a matter of seconds before I panic, bend my knees to my stomach and stretch my legs, placing my feet firmly on the bottom of the pool.

First day of swimming class. Adult beginners only. Only person who didn’t have the brains to get one of those caps. Coach lent me hers. That round thing in the pool making a fool of itself. Hi, can you teach me how to swim?

Leave a comment